Home > Poem, Poetry, Sonnet > To the Wood – a Sonnet

To the Wood – a Sonnet

It’s time to travel so I must go
to the place where Redwoods grow.
 
 
 
 
 
This heart is yearning for my earth bound friend,
to mend the wreckage done and calm the seethe.
Dense woods I scurry, searching to transcend
and melt into your breath, so I can breathe.
 
My spirit yielded freely to the wood,
when I was young and grew beneath cool shade.
The tender young fern danced under the hood
and played with sunbeam pearls in soft cascade.
 
Just hold me tightly with your Redwood arm,
to gently cradle empty souless sleep.
My heart is bleeding, keep me safe from harm,
I come to heal these spirit wounds that weep.
 
Alone I walk beneath my forest friend,
internal peace I seek, my soul to mend.
 
 
-TheMsLvh  © 2011
* Special Thank you to Luke Prater and dVerse
  1. July 21, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Beautiful writing. Vividly visual and flows nicely.

  2. Old Ollie
    July 21, 2011 at 10:34 am

    what a place…what a poem!

  3. July 21, 2011 at 10:41 am

    “and melt into your breath, so I can breathe.” gorgeous!

    • July 21, 2011 at 10:46 am

      thank you, I formed a tear on that line as well.

  4. July 21, 2011 at 10:57 am

    This has to be the best modern sonnet I have read in a long time for the emotions it raises in the reader, of homesickness comforted, of joy in nature, together with pleasure in the beauty of the language. Have you submitted it to 14 magazine?

  5. July 21, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Great expressions.I find similarities of feelings and emotions in the lines ‘my heart bleeds’
    and ‘time to go’-reminded me of T S Eliots ‘Let us go then, you and I’
    A pleasure to read as beautiful dense images of greenery were created, the soul alone finds solace among the trees and the peaceful atmosphere of Nature.

    • July 21, 2011 at 11:19 am

      Thank you anjum wasim dar
      . I will go to find E S Elliot and read his poem. You sparked my interest. Thanks for the comment

  6. July 21, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    The last line? IDEAL.

  7. July 21, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Hopefully the woods will help heal the wounds. The woods is a place for healing for me as well.

  8. July 21, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I’m so glad you stopping by my blog, because it gave me an invite to yours. Your haiku are lovely, but this sonnet was drop-dead beautiful. Worth submitting for publication. Your love for the woodlands, for the redwoods, shines through. We also need to work on healing the many woodlands which have been raped by industry, as well as the rainforests, where my heart beats strong… thank you so much. Amy

  9. July 22, 2011 at 2:13 am

    Wonderful visuals most enjoyable :)

  10. July 22, 2011 at 4:58 am

    played with sunbeam pearls in soft cascade

    Lovely description of light falling through a leafy canopy…

  11. Leona
    July 22, 2011 at 5:42 am

    I hope you can find some peace in the woods. Breath in the fresh air and find peace in your soul. I can feel your pain in this poem. You need some time away to regain your strengh and hopefully find some joy and peace in your heart. You know we love you. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Drive safely. Do something nice for you! You deserve it!

  12. July 22, 2011 at 7:21 am

    This is thought-provoking … and I love the reflective style of your writing !

  13. July 22, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Wow, such a beautiful sonnet. Lovely, lyrical and in perfect metre. Well done!

  14. July 22, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    Very visual and the imagery is so descriptive. Love it – I have never been able to master writing a sonnet so when I see one like this it makes me happy

    • July 26, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      Wow, Jo, That means a lot to me. :)

  15. July 22, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Wow absolutely gorgeous, your writing blows me away

  16. July 22, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    This is the first time I had the chance to visit your site (but surely not the last now!) Your woods strike a loamy, arboraceous balance that feels safe and peaceful in the end.

  17. July 22, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    brilliant, abstract and beautiful, big smiles.

  18. July 22, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    This is so so beautiful :)

    xx

  19. July 23, 2011 at 4:06 am

    Just what I needed right now (very selfishly put, I know)… Beautiful and like a breath of fresh air in the midst of 24 hours of news mayhem in my part of the world. Thank you! *smile*

  20. A.B. Thomas
    July 24, 2011 at 8:07 am

    Very sweet flow

    • July 26, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      So happy you visited. Thank you for your comment

  21. July 24, 2011 at 9:37 am

    Hey there WOW this is just lovely you have done a reat Job love it beautiful
    Huga T

  22. July 24, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    Beautiful!!

  23. July 25, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Wonderful imagery and a beautiful sonnet!

    • July 26, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      Thank you for your beautiful comment. Happy you enjoyed it!

  24. July 26, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    California ink was never put to a better use. A sonnet, the way a sonnet is supposed to be.

    • July 26, 2011 at 4:30 pm

      Thank you so so much Mike. You know it is from the bottom of my heart!

  25. July 30, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    “The tender young fern danced under the hood
    and played with sunbeam pearls in soft cascade.” – This is so very lovely.
    I have a strong love of trees and the comfort they bring is tremendous.
    Such a beautiful sonnet! Thank you! -Kay Salady

  26. August 6, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Wow, this is beautiful! Wonderful imagery. I love the first line and “when I was young and grew beneath cool shade” and “I come to heal these spirit wounds that weep”. There’s something healing about trees and you’ve captured that so well here. Very well written :)

    • August 6, 2011 at 6:00 pm

      There is something magical about redwoods! Thank you so kindly for your comment.

  27. August 13, 2011 at 8:52 am

    ‘and melt into your breath, so I can breathe’ is a marvelous line among many. I remember being surprised at how quiet the redwood forest is, which was silly since I studied ecology. I simply sat on a stump for hours when we visited there’s something about 3,000 year old being that helps you put things in perspective. I live in the mountains of Colorado surrounded by Aspens. I find that my soul has been saved from cynicism by the sheer awe of nature. Thank you for your moving sonnet and sharing it with me.

    • August 13, 2011 at 9:08 am

      I love white aspens. Only seen them in the Sierra’s above 10,000 ft. I have to be surrounded by nature or I cant breath. Thank you for visiting Anna.

  28. August 16, 2011 at 12:29 am

    Beautiful imagery, you really managed to capture the tranquility of a forest within your words…

    • August 16, 2011 at 7:19 am

      Thank you for your comment and visits.

  29. August 18, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    nice…i retreat to the woods when life becomes too much so i really appreciate this…great imagery and a fine use of language as well…took me there and shared feelings i am familiar with for sure…

    • August 18, 2011 at 7:42 pm

      Brian, Thank you for your time and comment. Please visit anytime

  30. August 19, 2011 at 2:08 am

    You achieved the sonnet–before noticing the form I was too caught up in the language of the poem–it’s beautiful and you really took a photo of the human condition in that moment where you want that empty soul cradled. Just kick ass!
    Amy Jo

    • August 19, 2011 at 1:38 pm

      Amy Jo, writing this was a raw experience. From heart to paper. Thanks for visiting and loved your comment!

  31. August 19, 2011 at 7:00 am

    Oh, I do SO like this one. Congratulations on it.

    • August 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm

      David, Thank you so very much. Happy you visited.

  32. August 19, 2011 at 7:04 am

    English Shakespearean Sonnet – many nice lines here, in particular I like your calming of the seethe in line 2 and this in its entirety –

    The tender young fern danced under the hood

    Fine use of anthropomorphic fallacy/pathetic device (attributing human emotions/qualities to nature/inanimate objects).

    Your end-rhyme is true and feels unforced. And Iike the love of nature/the forest you show in the piece. Solace and respite.

    The iambic pentameter is all there bar three lines, which merely need a little edit to be truly iambic (syntax shuffling etc) –

    ‘Dense woods I scurry in search to transcend’ > ‘in’ wants to be unstressed rather than stressed because the following word, ‘search’, most definitely (to my ear anyway) is one that demands stressing in this context.

    ‘to gently cradle this empty soul sleep’. > ’empty’ is trochaic (DUM-di) rather than iambic (di-DUM); also I think ‘soul sleep’ needs a hyphen. This would make it a double stress (spondee) instead of a forced rushed ‘soul’ which you probably feel is an important word. Spondees (double-stresses) are fine to have a few of, esp at beginning and end of words (sometime they are inserted intentionally for effect). Viz –

    to GENT | ly CRA | dle THIS | EMP ty | SOUL-SLEEP

    see how ’empty’ is reversed, stress-wise?

    ‘My heart is bleeding, protect safe from harm,’ > ‘protect’ is stressed naturally as ‘pro TECT’, but where you have it in the line it needs to be the opposite. You could for instance do something like this to fix the meter –

    My heart it bleeds, protect me, safe from harm

    Similar editing on the other two lines would make them iambic also.

    The only other issue for me here is the use of phrasing/words that I would approach with caution in poetry due to their huge overuse and susceptibility to cliche –

    heart/spirit/hold me tightly/soul sleep/heart is bleeding (in partic)/heal spirit wounds that weep/soul to mend. soul/heart/spirit especially have been used since time immemorial in poetry and song to the point of almost meaninglessness and as poets we need to continually find new and different/arresting ways to express such things. It would strengthen your piece considerably to find other ways to phrase such thing, in my humble opinion.

    Always appreciate the effort gone into such a incredibly difficult form as the sonnet is and you’ve done well here. Strong theme and many nice touches. You may disagree on the cliche point, but even if you don’t, it’s nothing that a little editing won’t fix. Solid piece here

    • August 19, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      Wow Luke! I am so thrilled about your comment. I have been editing a few other poems due to your insightful comments. I wish I received more of these.

      Again, Thank you for your time and comments.

  33. August 19, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    This is beautiful.. I like that nature can heal and nourish our spirit.

    Thanks for sharing it ~

  34. August 19, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    don’t laugh but i can really hear the trees breathing in your sonnet. i feel the shade, the coolness of the air, the humidity and the peaceful atmosphere…and this really makes a poem for me when i can feel it…so thanks for taking me with you

    • August 19, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Claudia, you bless me with your visits. I really appreicate your comments. I agree, when you can feel a poem, it makes the experience wonderful. Thank you for visiting.

  35. August 19, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    The words “calm the seeth” said it all for me. That’s just what this lovely poem does.

    • August 19, 2011 at 7:04 pm

      Patti, that is exactly what it did when I finally visited my beloved Redwoods. Thanks for the visit

  36. August 19, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    Totally love your sonnet. Smooth rhyming. I think I have almost decided they are my favorites. I am for whatever brings peace to us from our lost love ones. And the forest is a great place to regain our peace and strength. Thank You.

    • August 19, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      I totally agree with you Sharon. Though I live by the ocean, my spirit is in the forests.

  1. July 31, 2011 at 10:19 am

Leave a Reply

