Home > 9/11, Iambic tetrameter, Itialian Sonnet, Poem, Poetry, TheMsLvh > Awake in Nightmares – Sonnet

Awake in Nightmares – Sonnet

 
There’s no one in the control room;
directing any flame of light.
Dark shadows ready to consume;
the mindless empty of the flight.
Unable to escape the doom –
foreboding thoughts tied up in fright.
Old premonitions come alive –
alerting mind’s eye to survive.
 
Exotic faces lay in wait,
beyond the sound of voiceless screams –
releasing shivers down the spine.
Deep crevices in eyes dilate;
erasing lines from truth or dreams –
caught in the spiral of decline.
 
These are vibrations cursed in hate,
that rupture ears allowing streams
of bloody red to desecrate;
and split what is real at the seams.
Awake within the nightmare’s gate
unleashing fears of wild extremes.

 

Never Forget!

 
☮TheMsLvh © 2011
Image: Courtesy of Google Image

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

  1. September 10, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    these are vibrations cursed in hate…great line and a harrowing reminder of that day…nice sonnet…nice use of language too…foreboding…premonition….

    is there a misspelling in the opening line? is or in?

    • September 10, 2011 at 2:53 pm

      Thank you Brian for your comments…and YES it was supposed to be “in”. With such emotions raging within, I let that one slip…thank you for catching it!

  2. September 10, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Am I right to read “the control room” as the halls of government? I would say maybe it’s a good thing there’s nobody in there, but then I’d sound like a libertarian (I’m not). I would say I suspect there are secret control rooms, but then I’d sound like a conspiracy theorist (I’m not). I’m just a regular guy trying to keep his head above water, trying to avoid those cursed vibrations of hate.

  3. September 10, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    A powerful piece. It’s 9.30am September 11 here (Australia) as I write and the memories are haunting and overwhelming to the point that I don’t want to remember, but we must! A perfect title “Awake in nightmares”. A great piece for a very sad day.

  4. hedgewitch
    September 10, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Lots of individual phrases that catch the eye–and the sonnet form is one I’m horrible at but aways like to read. I esp like the opening line, and the last two lines of the second stanza, also that image of ‘splitting what is real at the seams’ is extremely spot on.

  5. September 10, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    a very impacting piece of poetry – your use of form is always impressive and holds as a great example of effective application – not to mention the great writing – i really enjoyed this piece despite the tough subject.

  6. September 10, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    Beautiful writing.

  7. September 10, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Very powerful writing, heartfelt, sad, poignant.
    We must hope it never happens again but yes, it is the children who need to learn the way of love, it is the only way we (mankind) if we wish to continue to continue as a species, will ultimately survive.

  8. September 11, 2011 at 12:06 am

    good piece…there’s no one in the control room sets it up beautifully – the sonnet seems to give a good frame for the terror in the lines…very nice

  9. September 11, 2011 at 7:02 am

    Control room echoes in my thoughts. I sense sorrow and bitterness in your words. Nicely written.

    Beth

  10. September 11, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Gripping images here…. these words are powerful….

    These are vibrations cursed in hate,
    that rupture ears allowing streams
    of bloody red to desecrate;
    and split what is real at the seams.

    Enjoyed your sonnet form…~

  11. September 11, 2011 at 11:14 am

    Powerful words here,the stuff of 9/11 nightmares, written well in sonnet form. The first line draws me in, and the conclusion leaves me breathless.

  12. September 11, 2011 at 11:41 am

    This is such a sad day and so hard to forget. I stood in my living room on the islands and someone called me and told me to turn on my TV. Over the channels that we have on the islands this was on each one of them. I stood there and could not believe what I saw playing over and over again. Thank you for sharing this is such a sad day. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such a heart warming comment behind.
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/11/the-sorrow-of-our-times/

  13. September 11, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Very powerful write…such a harrowing day that we all still remember so vividly 10 years on. Yes, we wish for peace. If only that were achievable..

  14. September 11, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    That’s an awesome photo – and a great verse to accompany it. Well done!

  15. September 11, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    I would think this captures the emotion of someone who was there exquisitely.

  16. September 11, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    RE: the form–nicely done sonnet.

    One of the thoughts that crossed my mind as I read this is how this horrible event has wrought even further tragedy in the feelings it has engendered within us that lead us to be less than we want to be (I guess I should just speak for myself, here). Thanks for sharing this.

  17. September 11, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Amazingly powerful write from the opening picture to the last line, draws you right back to the emotions of that day. The opening ‘There’s no one in the control room’ sums up so well, metephorically of how that day felt to live through.

  18. September 11, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Truly. It was so surreal when it happen. It was indeed like a nightmare come true. Thanks for this poem.

  19. September 11, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    The day man first stepped on the moon, the day John F. Kennedy was assassinated and the day the World Trade Towers fell: three days I can tell you where I was as the events unfolded. We won’t forget.

  20. September 11, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Thank you EVERYONE for taking the time to visit and comment. As this day draws to the end, I still feel passionate about the events on that day and the events that followed. I pray one day, maybe one day, there will be peace.

  21. September 11, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    Powerful piece. I read this while I listen to people discuss their memories. We are all still haunted by the day, the questions, the powerlessness. Peace…yes, one day, we can pray ~

  22. September 11, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    We are ‘caught in the spiral of decline’ aren’t we? Beautiful poem, I too will pray for peace.

  23. September 11, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    I agree–they are vibrations cursed in hate–but we sure don’t want to follow down that path. I could feel the passion in this and appreciate this powerful expression of yours.

  24. September 11, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    “vibrations cursed in hate”… your poem captures the sense of the terror of that day. Nice writing!

  25. September 12, 2011 at 1:33 am

    You really packed alot in this sonnet, which made it intriguing to read. The picture seems to match its punch.

  26. September 12, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    that day did split what is real at the seams, we’ve managed to patch them, sew up the worst spots, but the scars will always remain. great job with this, the cadence added a lot of power to the sentiment.

  27. September 13, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    I love that you chose a sonnet for this wonderful 9/11 piece… it reflects the somber mood. Great poem!

  28. September 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Great remembrance poem! It was a shockingly destructive day.

  29. September 15, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    This is well done, powerful, and hits home, you have taken us right dead center of the agony of that day…masterful indeed, thank you, and you have a great week as well, WS

  30. November 2, 2011 at 4:27 am

    I’ve been away from your poetry too long. I almost forgot how brilliantly you write. Woken nightmares, voiceless screams, vibrations cursed in hate, desecrating streams of bloody red. So many powerful images. Very fitting L. Well done.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

