Home > Keats Sonnet, Poem, Poetry, Poets United, Rant, Sonnet > Politician’s Sonnet

Politician’s Sonnet

 
A northern breeze ignites a raging storm;
exposing cloaked deceptions in my head –
dark ebullition of emotions churn.
 
Malaise surrounds my vessel to conform;
those fervent pleas -the trunk of your words said.
The residue: your shallow truth will stain
 
and sweep away my heart – ablaze to burn.
Black clouds of spoken dust rehearsed to swarm;
enrage my thoughts –integrity is dead.
 
Words matter – sober truth is what I yearn;
regardless if lies bring unyielding pain.
Protect me not; your tales pulsate my skin.
 
Evading truth – your spin will never gain
my fervid heart – not credulous within.
 
 
☮TheMsLvh © 2011
 
Google Image – The Faceless Politian
 

ebullition – a seething or overflowing, as a passion or feeling
credulous – gullible
fervid – intensely passionate; ardent

submitted – dVerse and Sunday Whirl #19

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

  1. August 30, 2011 at 8:41 am

    ugh…truth is what i yearn as well though i think that is the last thing you will get from one pandering for your vote…get ready for the silly season…

  2. August 30, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Excellent Wordle. I mourn the death of integrity in public life – you’ve hit the nail on the proverbial.

  3. August 30, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    ha – most politicians don’t deserve that someone writes a sonnet about them…some faceless fellows among them indeed..

    • August 30, 2011 at 2:12 pm

      I am getting a feeling I am not the only one who is just blown back by what is happening. Thanks Claudia for the visit. Good to see you

  4. August 30, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Wonderful form. I love to see you continuing to explore different sonnets. The wordle and the deft handling of one of my favorite subjects is just the gravy on top..

    • August 30, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      Mike, Thank you! I worked on this for a bit. Choosing the right words to express a handful of thoughts was challanging. I hope it read well.

  5. August 30, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    I really enjoyed the metaphors you chose for our “wonderful” politicians. We’re in the middle of a special election here in NV and the campaign ads are so obnoxious, and the phone never stops ringing. And next thing you know, we’ll have more of the same for the primaries, then the general election. As Claudia noted, they don’t deserve a sonnet! But I enjoyed yours. Victoria

    • August 30, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      When the Court decided corporations were people, there will be enough mone to call you for the next 8 years! LOL. ahh, all kidding aside, I think we are all wearing thin. Loved your comment.

  6. August 30, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    haha truth is sadly what they will never give or if they do they won’t let it live. All they want is a vote and will say anything to get it.

  7. August 30, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    I like this a lot! Enjoyed the 3 line stanza’s and the truth within the whole. People are SO tired of Politicians! Especially liked: ‘malaise surrounds my vessel to conform’. Well done.

    • August 30, 2011 at 3:18 pm

      Thank you Elizabeth. I think I have touched on a universal nerve about our Politicians. Thank you for your visit! Your comments are always welcomed.

  8. August 30, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Arrrrgh! But I did get a call from Pat Boone. Be still, my heart. (I’m from his generation:0>)

  9. August 30, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    You’ve managed to make political disillusionment sound lovely! Great diction and form. Well done!

  10. August 30, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Trunk of your words is very evocative to me. Could it be a tree trunk, words falling and rising like sap and chlorophyl. Or like a travel trunk, so many words stored up to choose from.

    Personally, I think most politicians are actors who were too afraid to continue their craft.

    • August 30, 2011 at 5:52 pm

      Jannie, your comment stimulated my thoughts. I am glad my choice of words left one to think. Thank you for your comments! I agree with your statement about actors, perhaps not that they were afraid, they just could not find a good agent who was credulous enough :)

  11. O.V.H.
    August 30, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    HI, VERY VERY good and so true. Our country is going to pot because of their personal agenda and not whats best for the country.

    Another sonnet with profound thought and words.

  12. August 30, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Powerful… love the fourth stanza…words do matter.

    • August 30, 2011 at 7:07 pm

      Thanks Laurie! Good to see you again. I like the idea a truthful words from my elected leaders.

  13. August 30, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Sock it to ’em, babe, right in their speech. I’m so disgusted with ALL of them, who fail to wean from the Corporate teat for campaign funding. Give me a one-term, “I’m going to do these three things and then quit” candidate any day! Loved this, Ms. L. You speak my language. Happy dversity! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/third-eye-of-the-sightless-woman-dverse/

    • August 31, 2011 at 6:32 am

      Thank you Amy! I am thrilled by these comments I am not the only one feeling this way!

  14. August 30, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    This is fabulous, you mirror my own thoughts. I think it may be my favorite piece of yours, so far. Wow. I’ll read this one again. Well done.

  15. August 31, 2011 at 7:42 am

    This hit me like a tornado, scrambling for cover “beneath black clouds of spoken dust” . What is more amazing that the structure of your sonnet amplifies your message tenfold. The chaos is organized, yet truth is chaos. Thank you for sharing!

  16. August 31, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Protect me not; your tales pulsate my skin.

    So true! Great write!

  17. August 31, 2011 at 11:41 am

    from the title thru to the picture and the spiralling of your poem i was involved and intersted – cool and sophisticated idea – nicely done

  18. magicalmysticalteacher
    August 31, 2011 at 11:42 am

    The heart of your poem, for me, is the phrase “Words matter.” Yes, they do. And we should use them with care, which, I think, is what you try to do.

    Wordle 19 poem

  19. August 31, 2011 at 11:56 am

    Terrific poem and wordle use, Ms. L. I also am fed up with politicians; their signs sprout like hallucinogenic mushrooms in people’s yards; their fingers grasp for campaign funding in every conceiveable way (my boss keeps getting emails from our state pols); and they rarely (if ever) carry through consistently on their pre-election promises.

  20. August 31, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    I just want to thank everyone for your comments. I think as this next election season approches, we are not quite over the last one coupled with the frustration felt by many. This cycle will be interesting to say the least. Again, Thank you everyone for making me feel I am not the only one who is …..dreading it.

  21. August 31, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    oh, yes, we need the truth. lies reap more lies – sad

  22. August 31, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    It is well crafted, your ‘statement’ of discontent. Maybe that it is unusual for a constituent to find such a literary form to convey her dissatisfaction, you may get some special notice if you mail it to your Congressman or Senator (for what it’s worth?).

    I can’t help wondering if there was a specific issue or incident that prompted your sonnet?

    I like your poem. Write more.

    Cheers!

  23. September 1, 2011 at 8:58 am

    Fantastic, a topic dear to my heart – love the words “not credulous within”….perfection of form and metre, such a pleasure to read!

  24. September 1, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    exposing cloaked deceptions in my head really got my attention.
    the vast majority of politicians don’t have any real power, or exercise none. they serve their special interest masters. they are liars and drones, just as you have so eloquently written:)
    the art is so good and provoking for the subject.

  25. September 1, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    Great sonnet form, I haven’t done the Keat’s yet. Presuming you want help with the meter? Content looks good, bar perhaps ‘trusting heart’ which I would tread very carefully around, such is the susceptibility to cliche.

    Only two lines are not in iambic pentameter –

    ‘those fervent pleas – trunk of your words said.’ > this only has nine syllables; you are missing an unstressed one between ‘pleas’ and ‘trunk’. You could simply do something like –

    those fervent pleas – a/the trunk of your words said.

    The residue of your shallow truth will stain > this line has eleven syllables; ‘of’ and ‘your’ are both unstressed in this context and they are next to each other. Just cutting ‘your’ would fix it –

    The residue of shallow truth will stain

    or, if you want ‘your’ –

    The residue: your shallow truth will stain

    Hope this is helpful

    • September 1, 2011 at 4:04 pm

      Beyond helpful! Thank you Luke and dVerse for the opportunity to have this poem exaimed. THANK YOU!

  26. September 1, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Black clouds of spoken dust rehearsed to swarm – OMG – how I love this line !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • September 1, 2011 at 4:05 pm

      Jo! Good to see you friend! Glad you liked that line. It did send a punch! Come back soon sweetie!

  27. September 1, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Great form. I see that Luke has already commented on this. His critiques are very helpful. I need to try this form soon myself. Well done!

    Beth

    • September 1, 2011 at 7:01 pm

      Thanks Beth, Yes Luke spotted a couple unstressed items. I did change the word trusting to closing. I am new writting poems. going though my growing pains, there is so much to be aware of. Lukess comments to other poems is educating. Thanks for stopping by.

  28. September 1, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    A northern breeze ignites a raging storm;
    exposing cloaked deceptions in my head –
    dark ebullition of emotions churn.

    Malaise surrounds my vessel to conform;
    those fervent pleas -the trunk of your words said.
    The residue: your shallow truth will stain

    Love the use of ebullition and malaise – great picture too. I’m not here for critique as I’ve run out of time but I enjoyed it. Thank you!

  29. September 2, 2011 at 2:13 am

    I came back to re-read this, because it is a growing trend for poets to write anti-political rants – symptomatic of our times. This poem deserves to be seen more widely – could you send it to a satirical magazine, or maybe a newspaper (I’m not up to date with US publications)I’m still not convinced by your closing heart – could you use something like ‘resentful’ heart? It is permitte to have the occasional blip in the strict metre, despite what Luke says. Many examples in Shakespeare’s sonnets testify to that! Or if you are a stickler for the rules, how about ‘honest’ heart?

  30. September 2, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    poetic justice lingers on streets corners waiting to be heard….

  31. September 4, 2011 at 5:43 am

    You should see the mess over here!!! Political disillusionment is rife and you’ve almost romanticised it here, lol. Great poem, well expressed :)

  32. Ankoku Hikaru
    September 7, 2011 at 5:58 pm
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

