Home > Mixed Everything, Rant > Can You Relate? (rant)

Can You Relate? (rant)

 
I am so out of rhythm
         And so out of rhyme
I don’t even know the time!
 
I just draw a blank
         My words are at a loss
How do I get my thoughts across?
 
My muse has run away
         I hope not for long
What has gone wrong?
 
Was it the lack of sleep
         Or the daily stress of life?
Whatever it is, I’ll cut with a knife
 
Writing is my drug of choice
          I am in the throes of withdrawal
Words are trapped and want out…
 
         That’s all.

 

-TheMsLvh 7-29-11
  1. July 29, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    I don’t like the sound of this at all, but I can sure as h*ll relate!!! I’m sure your muse isn’t gone, not if you can still produce this kind of wordmanship! *smile* Keeping my fingers xed that you feel better soon! *hugs*

  2. July 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    I can relate and what I do is write through it with automatic writing, just like now I’m writing whatever comes to my mind and eventually I’ll either shut up or find a way to write what I really want to etc, etc etc… smiles… Works most of the time.

  3. July 29, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Poor you. But at least you made a poem out of a problem :-)

  4. July 30, 2011 at 8:31 am

    I can so relate I am going through this right now! It’s an awful feeling.

  5. Leo
    July 30, 2011 at 10:49 am

    You seem to be rhyming just fine :)

    • July 30, 2011 at 10:57 am

      After 5 hours, two different poems, in frustration I wrote this in 5 min. Sort of like a steam kettle letting off the pressure. Perhaps I need a break.

  6. July 30, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Horrible when this happens – I try to find a formula poem I have never done before and write one. The discipline usually gets at least some part of my mind working again. LOL

  7. July 31, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    I know what you mean. Those muses of ours are so fickle sometimes, but I always say the muse isn’t gone, it’s just taking an extended vacation. Hope yours returns soon. ;-)

    I’m here:
    Moments In The Sun

  8. July 31, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    If this is you with writers’ block, cant wait to see what you do when it passes:) Write on, fellow poet!

  9. July 31, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    Wait five minutes – rinse – repeat. Or take a walk in the opposite direction. Exactly!

  10. August 1, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    Obviously we can all relate, lol! And what a great way to write yourself out of writer’s block!

  11. August 16, 2011 at 12:14 am

    Writing is my drug of choice
    I am in the throes of withdrawal
    Words are trapped and want out…

    nice …its true sometimes

  12. August 17, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    Had to comment here, because writing is also my drug of choice… and believe me, in my 20s, I had plenty of choices! All of which serve as fodder for more poems, because of the colorful characters and situations therein.

    I also know that plugged-up feeling (“constipated” is such a nasty word – oops, I said it!) when the words are trapped inside your cranium, teasing you like gerbils on a wheel that won’t step off for examination. Great write, lady! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/strolling-we-write-poems/

  13. September 1, 2011 at 8:30 am

    You must listen harder.

    Fix your ear closer to your heart.

    Now listen . . .

  14. October 22, 2011 at 5:16 am

    It’s frustrating, yes, but somehow I feel most like a writer when it is as though each word I write is cut from my skin. Good poem!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

