Home > iambic, Poem, Poetry, Poets United > California Style Morning

California Style Morning

 

Grey stillness clutches morning sky,
not willing to release the sun.
Between the slate horizon line,
low flying seagulls slice the fog.

A piquant smell of saline mist,
released by crashing ocean waves;
drifts hauntly over barren beach.
True nature’s breath of living sea.

White fragments of sand dollars spilled,
along the water’s broken edge.
Low tide’s exposing gift, tossed free –
from tumbling ’round the ocean floor.

Salt air surmounts steep rocky cliffs,
dull silhouettes of coastal trees.
Commanding roar, the siren’s song –
brings high tide, California style.

☮TheMsLvh © 2011

 Submitted to We Write Poems #67
*My theme song in the early 70’s, yet I am California native.
 

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

  1. August 11, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    Beautiful imagery. You’ve got some great lines in there, “low flying seagulls slice the fog. A piquant smell of saline mist,” amongst others. This poem has a very serene, calming feel. Well written as usual” :)

    • August 11, 2011 at 7:15 pm

      Foggy August mornings in the coast seams to slow things down. Thank you for you kind comment.!

  2. August 11, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    This is really accomplished. I particularly like the first stanza.

    • August 12, 2011 at 7:15 am

      Coming from you ,wow, Thank you so much Viv.

  3. August 12, 2011 at 10:47 am

    I want to be there! Gloriously descriptive.

    • August 12, 2011 at 10:50 am

      Thanks Kim! Love your opinions, for you are an incredible writer yourself!

  4. August 12, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    A really beautiful poem. So calming and soothing. Just what I needed. I want to be there too. Thanks for a lovely composition

    • August 12, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      Thank you Pervagus or your lovely comment. California is calling you?

  5. August 12, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Your poem took me back to our visit to one of my favorite places in California, a tiny town called Trinidad. We visited a couple times, last time I saw a river otter on the beach! Thanks for your visit to my blog and your kind words. I look forward to reading more of your beautiful work.

    • August 12, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      Thank you Anna. I do know Trinidad. Northern Cal I believe, off the Russian River?

      • August 12, 2011 at 10:26 pm

        It’s 15 miles north of Arcata, a college town, in Northern California, Humbolt County. I’m sorry, I don’t remember the name of the river. We went to Klamath River but I’m not sure if that was in the same area. Gorgeous coastline and Redwoods though.

      • August 13, 2011 at 7:14 am

        That is a georgous area! Humbolt has become an interesting area in the past few years. A lot of the locals have moved due to the invasion of a white powder I hear. I love the coastal Redwoods!!
        I wrote this about the Redwoods.
        https://themslvh.wordpress.com/2011/07/21/to-the-wood-%e2%80%93-a-sonnet/

  6. August 13, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Clever lady adding such perfect music to this – it reminded me of a morning so long ago. My boyfriend was the cutest surfer ever Ihe really was), and we had slept in his mates car waiting for an early surf. Although I had a stiff neck, and the white roof was black with mosquitos, sitting there on the sand with the slight dampness of the morning as he paddled out was very etheral. Loved this BTW. But I guess you can tell huh? :)

    • August 13, 2011 at 9:47 am

      Jo, I am thrilled you have a great memory of this event. Sounds fun! glad my post made you relive it once again. Many times I will be reading someone’s poetry and it brings forth to mind a memory I had forgotten. I just love this community I found. You are one special lady Jo!

  7. August 13, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I have NO idea why, but the ‘white fragments of sand dollars’ line really got my synapses firing… So much imagery… Wow! You always do this to me! *smile*

    • August 13, 2011 at 12:48 pm

      Thrilled you like it and inspired you. Thanks CC!

  8. August 13, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    And now I’ve listened to the music… Wow! Even more! Wow! *heading off to write, right away*

    • August 13, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      Maybe buy an airline ticket too? :)

  9. August 14, 2011 at 7:45 am

    That’s a great poem to describes the scene so aptly!

    • August 14, 2011 at 7:53 am

      Thank you Strummed Words….love the name!

  10. August 14, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Lovely imagery written in beautiful verse.

    • August 14, 2011 at 8:57 am

      Thank you madhumakhi. I continue to discover different forms for expression. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  11. August 14, 2011 at 9:10 am

    i’d like to be there :)
    i particularly like the image of seagulls slicing the fog.

  12. August 14, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Oh, wow. Between photo and your words, I feel like I have just been to the sea. Thank you for that! So beautiful!

    • August 14, 2011 at 10:12 am

      Thanks Sherry. I know you long for your beach. I am thrilled I could take you there if only for a moment.

  13. August 14, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    Hello.
    You took us right there with this one.
    Awesome imagery! California style indeed!

    Thanks for sharing.

    Remove These Satin Sheets…

  14. August 14, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Definitely ‘the siren’s song’ to listen along the shorelines of the ocean. Wonderful imagery here. :)

    • August 14, 2011 at 6:30 pm

      Thank you for your kind comment. Glad you enjoyed the picture of words.

  15. jennifaye
    August 15, 2011 at 5:14 am

    amazing, powerful words. it’s as if i’m already there in the deserted beach.

    • August 15, 2011 at 6:51 am

      Wonderful comment Jennifaye. Thank you!

  16. August 15, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Really loved these last two pieces. I spent a few days riding my motorcycle up Hwy 1 last summer, your words evoked my feelings and the gorgeous scenery along the coast. Thanks!

    • August 15, 2011 at 10:07 am

      John,
      Hwy 1 is breathtaking. Thrilled I could evoke feelings you had last summer.
      Thank you for commenting, always a pleasure to know you have visited.

  17. August 15, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Absolutely beautiful. Such wonderful imagery and word choice. I loved it. :-)

    I can’t believe I have never visited here before! I have added you to my blogroll so I can keep up to date with your blog. It is good to meet you.

    • August 15, 2011 at 12:47 pm

      Susannah,
      I am so honored by your comment. Really NICE to meet you too!

  18. August 15, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    My California mornings were different. I was younger, usually hung over, hanging with friends in a coffee shop.

    Wish I could do it over again and be on the cliffs to hear that moment, that perfect moment of the sunrise. Feel smell BE the salt air… Beautiful, my dear. I’m subscribing so I don’t miss any! Amy

    • August 16, 2011 at 6:39 am

      Thanks Amy, Welcome to the party!

  19. August 16, 2011 at 6:42 am

    I am glad you expierenced California in my poems. Thank you for the visit

  20. August 16, 2011 at 7:20 am

    David, your comments are wonderful. Thank you for visiting

  21. August 17, 2011 at 7:36 am

    Good heavens! I feel like I should apologise for adding another comment to your extensive list, but I cannot resist anything California and coastal. I just spent a month with my mother in Walnut Creek and she gets the marine layer often enough to remind me of the coast. I also lived in Monterey for several years. You evoked many memories and much nostalgia. Thank you.

    margo

    • August 17, 2011 at 7:38 am

      Margo, I am thrilled you enjoyed this poem and it brought back memories and loving nostalgia. Your comments are ALWAYS welcome!

  22. August 17, 2011 at 10:05 am

    So beautiful..

    unbrushed

    • August 17, 2011 at 11:04 am

      gautami , Thank you, I am off to read your link. Thank you for commenting and visiting.

  23. August 17, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Lovely – wish I were there!

    • August 17, 2011 at 11:03 am

      Marey, There is something special about then entire West Coast of US. Thank you for commenting.

  24. August 17, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Ah this was like a poem of home. Much enjoyed, thanks!

    • August 17, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      Randy, You home being in California? Thank you for your time and comment.

  25. August 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Beautiful description of the coast. I could smell the salt in the air.

    Pamela

    • August 17, 2011 at 5:29 pm

      That is a wonderful comment. To paint a picture with words so the reader can actually smell salt air is the best compliment an author can receive. Thank you.

  26. August 17, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Gray mornings over a rocky coast can be breathtakingly beautiful. I love your line “not willing to release the sun.” Very cool.

    • August 17, 2011 at 5:58 pm

      Crystal, Coastal California fog has a way of sticking around for days. Then suddenly the sun pops out like a big birthday present. Thank you for your wonderful comment and your visit.

  27. August 17, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Captured well, vibrant imagery fills the many senses taking me back to the other nights evening stroll.

    • August 17, 2011 at 8:23 pm

      Reflections, perhaps we stroll the same beach. Thank you for your time and comment.

  28. August 21, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    nice…you bring the beach alive.. a great place for texture…i miss living near the beach, used to dive for sand dollars and shells when we lived in FL…you engage all the senses and makes me long for it all the more…

  29. August 22, 2011 at 4:14 am

    Lots of texture here on the beach. Nice write.

  30. August 22, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    When I lived on the coastside, I loved the bit of fog, then the sun breaking through. I was about 1/2 mile away from the ocean (Half Moon Bay) and after work would walk down and sit on a rock on a cliff to de-stress. The main issue for me, and why we moved away, was the cost of property and commuting into UCSF. We had a condo but wanted to garden. There are so many trade-offs in life. You poetry was a trip back to a serene setting. Now living in the desert I have different kinds of texture and beauty and love those too. Thanks for linking this to dVErse. Nice take on the prompt. Victoria

    • August 22, 2011 at 3:48 pm

      Victoria, I just love comments like your that elaborate. Thank you for writing an incredible comment!

  31. August 24, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Thank you for your kind words when you visited my blog.

    I hope to read lots more of your works as time goes on.

    Peace. Siggi on the Downeast Coast of Maine

  32. August 26, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Nice coastal imagery with a coastal, California pace. Very nice!

    • August 26, 2011 at 1:34 pm

      Thank you Zum. Glad you enjoyed the California pace

  33. September 4, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    A piquant smell of saline mist, > great line

  34. September 12, 2011 at 9:26 am

    Such a beautiful photo, with the words to bring it to sensory life. Many exquisite lines, but I really like how you worded these:
    White fragments of sand dollars spilled,
    along the water’s broken edge…

  35. September 12, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    This is gorgeous, fully evokes the magic of the coastal scene.

  36. September 12, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    Such a beautiful poem and photo – love the melodic lilt of your words and all of the lovely images of the sea……..it made me homesick, of course, that’s a given. And look at you, with so many comments. Wowzers, kiddo! That’s fantastic. You hit the poetry scene running:) I’m glad!

  37. September 12, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    nothing like a beach morning. fog and salt and everything feels ageless. … beautiful.

  38. September 16, 2011 at 6:37 am

    The first verse grabbed in its clutches alright…

  39. September 28, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I find the smell of the sea as alluring as its sounds and sight. Thank you for participating in this prompt.

  40. February 13, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Reblogged this on California Ink in Motion.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

