Home > iambic pentameter, Love, Poem, Poetry, Sestina > Unrequited Love – Sestina

Unrequited Love – Sestina

This poem was inspired by this beautiful painting which is for sale (see below for link). 
 
 Peace be with all of you.
-TheMsLvh
 
In silent motion I drift seamlessly
between reality’s fine line of dreams;
caught in the labyrinth of wanted love.
Stained corridors of promised fairy tales,
dull years of memories, mutating time –
defacing truth, obscuring my heart’s view.
 
Inside this winding parallactic view,
the melting promised years fade seamlessly.
My heart’s desire wrapped in wasted time,
within residing realms of frozen dreams.
You offered simple masquerading tales –
disguising charm for unrequited love. 
 
Quixotic fantasies entangled love,
wants heightened tantalizing points of view.
Continued to believe your fabled tales –
while time elapsed, unnoticed, seamlessly.
Hypocrisy laughed at my lustful dreams
until it was too late to salvage time.
 
Our carnal knowledge granted borrowed time
to orchestrate an ever-lasting love;
addressed within a gentle poet’s dream.
Emotions askew sealed your slighted view,
abandoning us as you seamlessly
went off collecting souvenirs of tales.
 
Suggestions of love mock your empty tales
rehearsed along the trail of misty time.
With caution you played your games seamlessly;
a temporal affair deflecting love.
You’re not aware I can escape this view
and your attempts to smuggle glossy dreams.
 
I shall relinquish all my vanished dreams;
eviscerate assuming hidden tales.
Forever you will be in my eye’s view
but I release myself from spiraled time.
Until you can feel one platonic-love,
in silent motion I drift seamlessly.
 
And though I view our noncommittal time –
enjoying lust with all your tales of love;
I am exhaling my dreams, seamlessly.
 
☮TheMsLvh © 2011
 
Image Source: Teimur-Amiry Unrequited Love – (Painting For Sale -Asking Price: $50,000 USD)
Size: 16 x 20 in – woo-hoo!
 
 

 

Thank you Ava and “The Poetry Palace Thursday Post Rally Week” for the Perfect Poet Award
I nominate  Mike Patrick for the next award

Visit these wonderful Poetic Blogs to read incredible poetry!
Parallactic  [par-uhlak-tik] – An apparent change in the direction of an object, caused by a change in observational position that provides a new line of sight.
Quixotic – impulsive and often rashly unpredictable.
Eviscerate – to deprive of vital or essential parts; disembowel.
 

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

  1. September 25, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    beautiful writing of love, the love trap, and so much more. Good work

  2. shiningcityonthehill
    September 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Very much written in the style of the Romantics… an Ode in its own way

  3. September 25, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    This is a gorgeous sestina–beautifully expressed. I wish you well in your recovery from surgery and will look forward to your return to writing soon. Take care.

    Wow–fifty thousand bucks!

  4. September 25, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    oh how seamless you made this feel – a sestina is a difficult form and this flows with every line beatifully – effortlessly. I LOVE IT.

  5. September 25, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    So glad to see the new sestina you posted here. I liked your formalization of unrequited love. Your teleteutons worked well to show how difficult it can to become unentangled as well as tangled up in someone else’s love. The braiding and unbraiding effects as you pulled apart the elements of day dreaming, fairy-tale endings, and the seamless way one life can entwine with another. Beautiful, and extremely well done. Gay

  6. September 25, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I love the last line, I want to exhale seamlessly.

  7. September 25, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    This is such a poem of love and you can tell that you took a lot of time and thought into this poem. I love your last lines so much and it was a great ending.
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/24/loneliness-the-anger-of-lost-hope/

  8. hedgewitch
    September 25, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    I couldn’t analyze this any better than Gay, so i won’t try, just say I liked your choice of words to repeat and reweave and think they worked your message through very well. Hope your surgery goes smoothly and your recovery is swift. Thanks so much for getting this up to share with us.

  9. September 25, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    wow your sestina was mesmerizing and pulled me right in…nice form for the repitition as well and you played it well…love is a favorite topic of mine….

  10. September 26, 2011 at 2:21 am

    Excellently constructed sestina, using your key words perfectly and romantically. While it is not essential to write a sestina in either iambics or pentameter, I did find the rhythm a little bumpy in places. But bravo for mastering this torturous form!

  11. September 26, 2011 at 4:17 am

    Beautifully written, well expressed. I can tell that you put a lot of thought into this poem. I love your word choices and there are a few lines that stand out, one of which is “Hypocrisy laughed at my lustful dreams, until it was too late to salvage time.” Great ending!
    Good luck with your operation. I’ll be thinking of you <3

  12. September 26, 2011 at 6:01 am

    I find sestinas to be incredibly challenging, so well done for attempting this form.

    Your theme was universal, and your great word choice made this a poem to really think about.

  13. September 26, 2011 at 6:26 am

    Thank you everyone for your wonderful comments. This is very heart-warming to have written something that brings such a diversity in comments. Thank you again! I would thank you indivually, but it is a strain. So I offer a group hug. From my heart, Thanks

  14. September 26, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Lovely, just lovely. Prayers for a speedy and thorough recovery. Enjoy the reading, there are some great poets sharing!

  15. September 26, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Absolutely beautiful write!
    I pray everything goes well with your operation and that your recovery is quick!

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/25/one-she-beckons-me-come-2/

  16. September 26, 2011 at 10:08 am

    You wrote this so well. Terrific form, and the layered messages flow – well, seamlessly :) I have experienced something similar with a snake-charmer kind of guy…….the poem really resonates with me. Great writing. I admire how well you write in forms so easily. You have such a gift.

    I hope you mend well and quickly after surgery and that you arent away from writing too long. Will you have one hand that you can use a pen with, at least? Take good care, we’ll be thinking of you! At least you’ll have tons to READ while you’re healing!!!!

  17. September 26, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Lovely message, lovely construction! I really enjoy your depthful work!

  18. September 26, 2011 at 10:54 am

    fabulous opening,
    enjoyed the word flow, bless you.

  19. September 26, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    There is only one word for the way you handled this difficult form—seamlessly.
    Wishing you well with your wings.

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  20. manicddaily
    September 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Great seamless job weaving sestina, and also describing interweave of lust and love.

  21. September 26, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    I know that there is a lot going on BUT…

    Time you popped over here and considered joining in the fun…

    http://jobryantnz.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/pinghank/

    Part 6 is being written by Balladeer – which we will put up – then the baton will be passed to someone else for part 7, and on and on it goes…

    You can even make up your own fairy name here:
    http://www.emmadavies.net/fairy/?firstname=joanne&lastname=bryant&sex=0#a

    So – you in or what ??????

  22. September 27, 2011 at 4:48 am

    In love with that fifth stanza. Beautiful work! Hurried recovery so you may continue penning such beauty.best wishes.

  23. September 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Excellent! So much here from the opening (so poetic with the two iambs and then “I drift seam–less–ly” creating an elongation of time) to the great last line.

  24. September 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    This is well told, melodic, thoughtful, l almost calculated in that your response to what I perceive as love gone wrong has been carefully planned … as you mentioned, expending a lot of energy writing this poem. I enjoyed it.

    http://crowsfete.blogspot.com/2011/09/once-young-now-old.html

    Liz

  25. September 27, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    First, my “I am not worthy” bow to you for writing such a lovely form, the sestina!

    Your poem encompasses so many facets of love, carnal and unrequited and platonic. Of all these, platonic lasts the longest, and so the ending was perfect for my tastes.

    Praying for you to have a quick recovery. And in the meantime, sweet dreams, Ms L! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/portrait-of-great-grandpa-and-mom/

  26. hedgewitch
    September 28, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Enjoyed reading this again…thanks for posting. “..I release myself from spiraled time” hit me this time through…nice.

  27. September 28, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Hello MsLvh, just want to say I was here again, and read your beautiful poem again. Still loving it :)

  28. September 28, 2011 at 11:02 am

    nice..great work onthe sestina form…you make those end words dance well but none better than your parting message…much to say of love…some days we seem damned if we do and damned if we dont in regard to it…smiles.

  29. September 28, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Beautiful flow in this poem.

  30. September 29, 2011 at 4:53 am

    You’ve picked out some great end words. They seem new each time you use them. Very nice job.

  31. Leona
    September 29, 2011 at 6:27 am

    Wow! That is amazing and beautiful. Love reading your works of art. You have been given a gift of writing and we are the ones blessed by it. Hope you are recovery nicely from you surgery.
    Take care and heal soon!

  32. September 29, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    Wow! This is like breathing music! Very well done for an extremely challenging piece!

  33. October 1, 2011 at 7:27 am

    This is a grand epic piece! Awesome work here.

  34. October 7, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Wanted to revisit this piece, and just became totally encapsulated by the romaticism here, it literally swept me away….. so beautiful, very wise choice of words, your last word in the poem is seamlessly, and that is exactly what your entire poem is… seamless… I’ve missed you on Tuesday nights… hope everything is ok….

  35. October 9, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    profound thoughts on love.
    wow.

  36. October 9, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I really like this line, I can feel it. Inside this winding parallactic view,

    • October 9, 2011 at 5:00 pm

      and wanteed to add, weird that you wrote a sestina and posted it right after my sestina

  37. October 10, 2011 at 11:16 am

    this beautiful.

  38. belladonna23
    October 10, 2011 at 11:55 am
  39. October 11, 2011 at 11:11 am

    well deserved award, amazing entry.

  40. October 11, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Old School romantic vibe! Nice work!

  41. October 11, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    Nice job! Congratulations too!! It’s nice to be in such great company. Blessings, Terri

  42. October 14, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Wow, this is amazing! I love the imagery, and the choice of words is perfect. Flows very smoothly too. And I really like what you’ve said. Great poem!

  43. October 15, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Reading so much terrific content material, I am amazed I find the chance to get any actual work carried out. I hope the supervisor does not catch me on here. Anyhow, wonderful work folks thanks.

  44. October 17, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Yes, cool keep it up

  45. October 17, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    kudos for approaching the sestina form…never done one myself…still too big a challenge for me. i like the use of seamlessly …reality’s fine line…this is often what life feels…walking the borders and it needs lots of balance to do so..

  46. October 29, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    hey thought of you tonight and thought i would swing through…had not seen you around dverse in a bit..

  47. October 30, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Can I quote you on a paper that I am working on?

  48. November 1, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    An interesting treatment is couturier statement. I think that you should create author on this matter, it might not be a bias person but mostly group are not sufficiency to speak on specified topics. To the next. Cheers like your Unrequited Love – Sestina California Ink in Motion.

  49. November 2, 2011 at 4:44 am

    Beguiling and tortuous at the same time. There are too many exquisite lines and images in your piece to mention. This one speaks to me so readily and heartily. I wish I could express myself with this kind of fortitude and elegance. I’m developing a condition I read in another’s poem: pen-envy. Amazing write (again)!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

