A Starry Sonnet

 
A star-filled night can pierce the holy dark:
their brightness splinters light across black sky.
Explosions sprout a star’s enthralling spark-
beyond the fortress deep in space, they fly.
                                           
The bright of city lights hold visions blind-
astounding scene of planets dancing high
embracing darkness, lone stars realigned.
A falling star’s sweet voice will crest then die.
                                            ★
Be quick to dream a wish on shooting stars.
Allow no fear of hope to weed your trust-
at times, life’s rattles can inflict deep scars.
Begin by wishing troubles turn to dust.
                                            ★
Your silver coins in pockets, merely thrown;
     to wish upon a star; a wish to own!
 
 

-TheMsLvh  © 2011
Photo source: Google
submitted to The Sunday Whirl 
Thank you Viv!        

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

  1. August 1, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    You’ve blown me away again. You built a beautiful night sky for me to wish upon.

  2. August 2, 2011 at 12:04 am

    I love the idea behind this sonnet – some of the wordle words jar a little, inevitable with wordles. I frequently edit my wordle poems at a later date, eliminate the inappropriate!

    • August 3, 2011 at 9:34 am

      Thank you so much Viv for your interest in my writing. It is truly an honor to have your opinions!

  3. August 2, 2011 at 3:20 am

    A lovely poem; I didn’t even notice the wordle words!

  4. August 2, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    I love the ending, and will cast my own wishes to this evening’s stars.

  5. sm
    August 2, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    beautiful poem

  6. Leona
    August 4, 2011 at 5:26 am

    Starry Sonnet was beautiful. I really liked this poem. May you find a star to wish upon, and may your wishes come true! This was one we can all relate too! Hoping to have our wishes come true. May you be blessed with many!

  7. August 4, 2011 at 7:19 am

    Astronomical and a celestial beauty shines in your words scripted here!! Loved it!!

  8. August 8, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Excellent poem! No doubt I’ll be thinking of it while watching the Perseids meteor shower this weekend. :)

    • August 8, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      I’ll be watching it with you! Thank you for your lovly comment.

  9. February 14, 2012 at 8:44 am

    I do love the rhythm of a sonnet. The couplet is lovely and the whole takes me back to the classroom reading sonnets with my students.

    margo

  10. February 14, 2012 at 10:41 am

    I didn’t know it was a wordle, and I didn’t ‘suspect’ anything :-) All very natural, love the last two lines!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

