Broken Wings

Image inspired..  this is simply poetic expression. 
 
 
 
Close the windows and lock the door,
I cannot take this anymore.
Throwing down the cards, fold my hand.
This is not what I had planned
 
I have not been myself lately,
skilled knives have mended so greatly-
the bones, but lost my will to sing.
Gravity won and broke my wings
 
There’s no more fear in the breakdown,
I have lost the will not to drown.
So easy to ride, down this slide,
can’t you see it in my dark eyes?
  
I’ve been good at wearing the mask,
to hide the tears, so they don’t ask.
Such busy lives, no time to spare,
so let me go, for I’m not scared.
 
I have slipped far, this time dear,
ready to quit the game, no fear.
Into a hole where time has ceased,
longing to claim my soul deceased.
 
No metaphors to shield the weak,
silence is what I crave, don’t speak.
Has nothing to do with you dear,
it’s just as plain and clear…
 
to me…so,
 
Close the windows and lock the door,
I cannot take this anymore.
Throwing down the cards, fold my hand.
This is not what I had planned
 
 
-TheMsLvh © 2011

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

  1. August 2, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    Nobody ever plans this. Well written about what plagues a lot of us. I go for a long walk with my transitions off for about a half an hour a day when it gets unbearable since I’m not prone to exercise. They say the lack of this combo of bright light and exercise is why we get so depressed. What even works better is to find a walking partner. I found it to be easier to find one already walking than to convince someone else to go. smiles… I had this older friend growing up that used to say “Hey cheer up things could be worse.. sure enough they cheered up and guess what…? Things got worse”.

  2. August 2, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Things do end up better in the end even if they dont seem that way now. Eventually things work out.

  3. August 2, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    If this is simply poetic expression, then, it’s good. depression pulls us down and suck us into it sometimes before we even realise it’s happening.

    I’ve been there, went through a dreadful time of it, too.
    Lovely, sad, powerful prose.

    Thank you for visiting me. I read your ‘about me’ page, too. Nice to meet you :)

    • August 3, 2011 at 7:44 pm

      Yes, inspired by image, I did disclose this but forgot to put it on the page ,…it is there now

  4. The Emotional Orphan
    August 2, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Very nice write.. I get it, and ouch… I TRY to remember the quote from George Jung at the end of the movie “BLOW”– I’ll grant you I’ve had more than my share of poignant moments. Life passes most people by while they’re making grand plans for it. Throughout my lifetime, I’ve left pieces of my heart here and there. And now, there’s almost not enough to stay alive. But I force a smile, knowing that my ambition far exceeded my talent. There are no more white horses or pretty ladies at my door.”

    And I ask myself, is this how I want to end my movie ? Screw the plans, and rock on sister…

    • August 3, 2011 at 7:42 pm

      Thanks Emotional Orphan, I’m rocking!

  5. belladonna23
    August 3, 2011 at 6:37 am

    you got me at “gravity won and broke my wings”

  6. August 3, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Wonderful work–off a prompt of a downed angel. You drew every possible bit of anguish out of it. I believe it was every bit of what you planed.

    • August 3, 2011 at 11:03 am

      Thank you for the wonderful comment… Yes! it was a prompt poem from an image.

  7. August 4, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    so cool, rock on. I totally dig it.

    • August 4, 2011 at 9:01 pm

      Thanks Jessie! Rockin’ on!

  8. August 5, 2011 at 11:04 am

    This is a wonderful interpretation of the image. I love the rhythm and rhyming of your poems, they lilt along so beautifully. I used to rhyme and write more lyrically when I was young but my brain seems unable to do it any more….sigh. However one must be grateful to be writing anything at all!!!!!

    Great writing, kiddo.

    • August 5, 2011 at 4:52 pm

      Thank you Sherry for your wonderful comment!

  9. August 5, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    Always comes to a point where the game gets a bit too much. It does seem wise to quit instead of letting the game play you instead. Thanks for the provocative thoughts from your poem. :)

    • August 6, 2011 at 6:22 am

      provocative is definately what this poem is. It truly stirred up my friends and family!

  10. August 6, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Wow – you really captured the place I am at right this moment – beautiful

    • August 6, 2011 at 6:02 pm

      Thank you for your comment and I think we all have moments like ths.

  11. August 7, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    I can relate to this. I love this line “Gravity won and broke my wings”. Well expressed poem :)

    • August 11, 2011 at 7:45 pm

      Thrilled you liked it! It was just one of those images that struck me. Thank you for your time and comment.

  12. August 10, 2011 at 8:03 am

    I don’t even know what to say, but still wanted to show I’d read this. And loved it. Though it made me cry. *weak smile*

    • August 10, 2011 at 10:07 am

      CC. it was a compelling image indeed.

  13. August 17, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    For me, the whole point of poetic expression is to let both the light out and the dark in. Then write what you see and feel… I’ve thought many times about ‘throwing in the cards,’ quite literally, back before I sought help for my M/D and various disorders. Feeling as though your wings are broken is sad, indeed, and, like CC, I admit I had a little cry over this one, but a good cry, you know? Ms. Lvh, you are very talented. Thanks, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/17/strolling-we-write-poems/

    • August 17, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      Thanks Amy, I have to admit, I too had a tear when I finished this and read it outloud. *sharing my tissue with you and CC* The image cried for these words I thought.
      Thank you for your compliment. I find you very talented as well Sharp Little Pencil.

  14. August 26, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Such an image to break the heart. I really enjoyed this poem.

  15. Ina
    September 21, 2011 at 9:00 am

    This is a great poem I think. I like it.

  16. September 21, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Hang in there, Cali girl. You’ll get through this. The writing is still awesome. Do lots of dwelling if the keyboard is not doable. Come back better than ever!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/in-the-blink-of-an-eye/

  17. September 21, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Open the windows, your words have so much goodness for the world to know :)

  18. September 21, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Humans have failed to understand that there is a divine plan too-and if we accept what has been ordained for us the sooner, the better.We have to do just as you say-close the door and wait for we cannot take it anymore-so lets wait for the best that will come to us surely if we have been good. Extremely well expressed.

  19. September 21, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Great interpretation of the image! Well done!

  20. September 21, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Loved every line, and although it is picture inspired your words inspired vivid images. Great job!
    Here’s my entry: http://mysticmarleei.wordpress.com/2011/09/16/love-lost/

  21. September 21, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Nice rhyming poetics.

  22. September 21, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Gravity won and broke my wings.

    Oh how this poem brought tears to my eyes and I found myself nodding in agreement too, been there, felt that too. Wonderfully crafted my friend. A keeper!

  23. September 21, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I am sure this is never what anyone had planned. It just works out sometimes like this your words are so well done in describing this in a wonderful poem. Thanks you for sharing this. When I think of your title I think of life being a dream we can not have and if we let this dream die life is a broken winged bird that can not fly. I always consider this when I think of having dreams and never letting them die. My Grandfather explained this once about never allowing your dreams to die.
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/21/remember-the-years/

  24. September 21, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    I love the image and a lovely write. I think most of us can relate to this though. Well written :)

  25. September 21, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    “There’s no more fear in the breakdown.” Great line. Thanks for sharing. Here’s mine:
    http://tappingthewall.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/stars/

  26. September 22, 2011 at 7:47 am

    with time. everything will be alright..

  27. September 22, 2011 at 11:19 am

    This is quite simply superb expression. One of the things that makes this a good poem is that you are able to express the terrible sadness, the futile life without sounding maudlin or sentimental. Just excellent.

  28. September 22, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    You are writing about my life lately. Thanks for sharing!

  29. September 22, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    Really well expressed. The need for privacy so that emotional pain can be felt and experienced without having to explain– I understand it. Longing to quit, even longing to die, even longing one’s soul to die. Pretty powerful stuff. This kind of writing will speak to many people, and it can be so helpful to know that someone else can feel or even think these things.

  30. September 23, 2011 at 6:50 am

    a sad story eloquently told.
    the title says a lot.

    thanks for sharing.

  31. September 23, 2011 at 10:50 am

    Wow, brilliant poem. Best I have read in quite some time. My fav line:
    ‘Gravity won and broke my wings’

  32. September 23, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Nicely done. We have all been there at some time.

  33. September 25, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Wow. The emotion in this poem is very powerful.

  34. September 25, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    This is a really beautiful poem, thank you so much for writing and sharing it with us

  35. September 28, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    You have captured the silent epidemic quite well. It is a hard condition for most to understand! Thank you for sharing!

  36. September 30, 2011 at 4:16 am

    I’ve been good at wearing the mask, to hide the tears, so they don’t ask Such busy lives, no time to spare, so let me go, for I’m not scared.

    Wow! I have chills. Great work! Flawless! Bravo!

  37. September 30, 2011 at 6:48 am

    You capture the pain exquisitely – yesterday I saw a herd of elk and one of the young ones had a broken leg, it was heart rending. Your poem touched me, I hope you are healing well. Thank you.

  38. September 30, 2011 at 10:37 am

    amazing imagery.

    wow…

  39. September 30, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Brilliantly written!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

