Home > Poetry, Poets United, Quatrain, Spilled Ink > The Poet Artist

The Poet Artist

 
Opining souls; a heart-felt plea,
from deep within, the writer chimes.
Selecting prime words is the key,
which draws the reader into rhymes.
 
All poets strive to paint their worlds,
with spilled black ink and feathered tip.
A writer feels the words unfurled,
creating pictures with each script.
 
At times, cold print will strike a chord,
a shock-filled verse brings forth dismay.
Requesting poems – sweetly poured,
inhibit words the poets say.
 
To cavil lines in verses read,
with captious thoughts of words repulse.
Sad broken lives or souls which bled,
disrupt the reader’s warm steel pulse.
 
Addiction plagues the writers quill,
the need to write fulfills the heart.
Imploding spirits scribe to fill
the void, and thus creating art.
 
-TheMsLvh  © 2011
Image source: Google

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

  1. August 5, 2011 at 5:46 am

    Good one!

    • August 5, 2011 at 7:02 am

      Thank you for your comment. coming from someone who posts incredible poems written by you or other famous poets, this means a lot.

    • August 5, 2011 at 4:57 pm

      Thank you Bardonthehill for your comment. I am still reading all the great poems you post, I feel lucky to have you as a resource to some of the great poets.

  2. August 5, 2011 at 6:52 am

    I love your choice of words, great images arrive~

    “Addiction plagues the writers quill,
    the need to write fulfills the heart.
    Imploding spirits scribe to fill
    the void, and thus creating art”
    This was my fav, so many beautiful lines~
    Well Done; I loved your unique take on the prompt~

    • August 5, 2011 at 7:03 am

      Thanks Ella! I liked that stanza too, written from the heart.

  3. August 5, 2011 at 9:25 am

    You absolutely nailed the state of being a poet. Marvelous write.

    • August 5, 2011 at 4:55 pm

      Mile, You always know exactly what to say in your comments..*Big Smile* Thank you for your encouragment!

  4. August 5, 2011 at 11:02 am

    I love the rhythm and metre of this. Well done! I especially like the last two lines. And thank you for your lovely comments on my blog:)

    • August 5, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      Thanks Sherry for commenting. I loved your blog! It was my pleasure to visit you.

  5. August 5, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    You have captured a poet’s life perfectly. I like the last stanza, too (and the 3rd).

    • August 5, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      Wow, thanks for the comment!

  6. August 5, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Nice rhymes. :) 2nd and last stanzas connect well with me. It’s an addiction, a need. A creation of a picture expressed through words alone.

  7. August 5, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    You almost need to be a poet to comment with any meaning on this piece. Such a lovely poem, evocative and insightful. Addiction is indeed a plague. Glad I’ve come across your site :-)

  8. August 5, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Good work!!

  9. August 6, 2011 at 6:41 am

    I love this! Great rhymes and well expressed. I love the last stanza “Addiction plagues the writers quill, the need to write fulfills the heart.” Well written :)

    • August 6, 2011 at 6:51 am

      You must also feel the need to write my fellow poet. Thank you for your comment and now I am off to check out your blog. Have a great weekend!

  10. August 6, 2011 at 7:12 am

    Addiction plagues the writers quill….awesome :) love it

    • August 6, 2011 at 7:16 am

      swanrose, you must also feel the need, the addiction. Quite a infliction isn’t it?

  11. Emily
    August 6, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Absolutely love this piece. The last line is so true, art is the product of nothing. Great to find your blog ;-)

    • August 7, 2011 at 10:22 am

      loved your line… art is the product of nothing! So true!

  12. August 7, 2011 at 10:17 am

    A great depiction of what it’s like to be an artist. Poets are not the only ones to feel this way sometimes.
    “A writer feels the words unfurled” – a beautiful line.

    • August 7, 2011 at 10:21 am

      Thank you Jess. I think that is what makes an artist an artist, they feel it.

  13. August 7, 2011 at 11:02 am

    “All poets strive to paint their worlds,
    by spilling ink on paper white.
    A writer feels the words unfurled,
    creating pictures in each write.”

    Love it!

  14. August 7, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    Oh my, this was wonderful! I truly tried to pick a favorite stanza, but it turns out, my favorite was the one I was currently reading, changing again as I read the next. Did I mention it was wonderful? :-)

    • August 7, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Oh my! John, I am thrilled you liked this. I find your writing incredible as well. Thank you

  15. August 7, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    I like the last verse especially – i think you capture the power of writing exactly. Thanks.

  16. August 8, 2011 at 6:47 am

    Very true about poets. Your poem struck a chord with me.

  17. August 8, 2011 at 9:12 am

    “Addiction plagues the writer’s quill” This resonated with me. Thank you for sharing.

  18. August 8, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Incredible rhyming and beautifully written, I can very much relate

  19. August 8, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Clever and addictive! Brilliant

  20. August 8, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Well said!

  21. August 8, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    oh this one is good…good. Unfurled, addiction…wild wild abandon. I dig.

  22. August 8, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    I wish I could rhyme! This is awesome!

  23. August 8, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Addiction and recovery definitely ink my pen – you described this so well!

  24. Leona
    August 9, 2011 at 5:36 am

    Beautiful Lisa!. By spilling your ink, you are fufilling our hearts too! I love the use of words in this poem. Continue to open your heart to your work. You have been given a wonderful gift!

  25. August 9, 2011 at 7:13 am

    Oh, wow!!! This one hit home… Especially the last stanza! Beautiful!!!!

  26. August 9, 2011 at 9:04 am

    true, lovely thoughts on writers…

    :)

    • August 9, 2011 at 9:09 am

      Thanks Jingle for your time to comment.

  27. August 16, 2011 at 12:18 am

    need to write fulfills the heart…..so true….enjoyed it

  28. August 21, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    This is very Royal, and I don’t say that much, a great big round of applause, stanza 4 is great, :), thank you, very much appreciated, WS

    • August 21, 2011 at 12:11 pm

      John, I am thrilled you liked this. You must be able to relate! Thank you for your kind comment.

  29. August 26, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    This is just perfect. (Don’t understand why people don’t fill in the star ratings — this is clearly excellent — 5 stars — just an amazingly crafter poem!)

    • August 26, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you for your visit and the rating! Thrilled you liked the poem.

  30. August 26, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    Ms. L, I’d missed this one. What a lovely description of the writer’s craft! Beautifully realized, lovingly crafted. Thank you so much. You make us ALL feel so blessed to be poets! Amy

    • August 27, 2011 at 6:58 am

      Sharp, thank you for your beautiful comment. Writing has become a big part of my life. To be able to express myself has become a blessing. You are wonderful to visit and comment. I really appreicate your visits.

  31. August 28, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    amazing write.

  32. September 7, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    Thanks for the comment. Love this. I especially like the last two lines:

    ‘Imploding spirits scribe to fill
    the void, and thus creating art.’

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

