Home > Love, Poem, Poetry, Poets United, Quatrain > Think Only This of Me

Think Only This of Me

Prompt #17 for Carry On Tuesday, http://carryontuesdayprompt.blogspot.com/, was to use all or part of “If I should die, think only this of me” (the first line of Rupert Brooks poem, The Soldier). *Thanks Mike Patrick for inspiring me to write this after reading his poem*. I used iambic pentameter in Quatrain.
 
 
Remembering past days of childhood dreams,
explored the world through starry wild eyes,
Adventure was attractive;  I must say,
unbridled freedom was my crowning prize!
 
With money saved, I flew across the pond,
experiencing new lands with scenic views.
Impoverished days or wealthy party ways,
I traveled miles, wearing holes in shoes.
 
The love for people I hold dear to heart,
along with animals who roamed the land.
True nature’s gifts of rainbow pots of gold;
and warmth of sunlight with cool ocean sand.
 
I lived my life embracing truth of love,
to give much more of me than to receive.
Delightfully filled heart with love to give,
unselfish quest for those who are in need.
 
If I should die, think only this of me,
my soul belongs to Mother Nature’s thread.
Don’t shed a tear because my life’s been full,
just put that party hat upon my head!
 
TheMsLvh  © 2011

Image source: Go Green

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License

  1. August 10, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    I like this, but the last 3 lines are awesome – that sounds inadequate somehow – but it fits. Just want to mention: Now you don’t need to accept, or do anything I guess, if you don’t want to, but I have included you in my Seven Links Award. http://jobryantnz.wordpress.com/2011/08/11/the-seven-links-award/
    I actually enjoyed doing this one – especially including blogs I love.

    • August 10, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      Wow Jo, I am truly honored with this. I am so happy we found each other in with little piece of the web. I am gracious for your Seven Links award. Thank you Jo!

  2. August 10, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Impeccable meter, and I love that last line!

    • August 11, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      Yes Viv, the last line is a true statement. I don’t own a party hat yet, but I think one of purple velvet with a few flowers would be just fine! How is France these days? I just watched a movie and it mentioned the rolling green hills of Normandy, thought of you.

  3. August 10, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    I like it because it’s not gloomy. smiles

    • August 11, 2011 at 12:03 pm

      booguloo, When I approched this, I reflected on my entire life as a whole. Yes, there has been some gloomy days, some of my writing ( I call spilled ink) reflects it. Poetry therapy is what I call it too.
      Thanks for your interest and taking the time to comment as you do so often.

  4. August 10, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    So much of your soul is now revealed. Don’t look now, but your free spirit is showing.

    Sadly, I never had the courage to walk your path. My loss. Go green!

    • August 11, 2011 at 11:58 am

      oh Mike, if you only knew. Actually you are getting to know. Life was different in the 60’s-70’s. I would never buy that one way ticket now, the world has become….um…interesting. Always love your comments!

  5. August 10, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    A lovely poem and a great story. It’s nice to feel fulfilled with life. Party on!

    • August 11, 2011 at 11:56 am

      Pervagus, promise I will! Have a great day yourself. Thanks for the comment.

  6. August 10, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Beautiful! And the ending made me smile.

    • August 11, 2011 at 11:54 am

      Kelly, it is in my living will!! lol. Glad you liked it and maybe this will become a trend, not soon I hope!

  7. August 10, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    A very inspiring and positive poem.. with a great lesson to live our life with hope:)

    • August 11, 2011 at 11:53 am

      You are so right Sajeevs. When I think there is nothing left, there is always hope to get us through those times. Thank you for your time and comment.

  8. August 11, 2011 at 3:10 am

    I love this kind of reflective sentiment!

    • August 11, 2011 at 11:51 am

      This prompt made me stop and really think. So happy you liked it.

  9. The Masked Poet
    August 11, 2011 at 9:23 am

    A beautiful poem, fair maiden! Never give up your majestic art! Yours in poetry, The Masked Poet.

    • August 11, 2011 at 11:50 am

      How mysterious you are! A King or peasant, which I know not, your comment gifted this maiden with a smile. Thank you.

  10. August 11, 2011 at 11:43 am

    your words fly.

    thanks for linking to poetry potluck.

    :)

    • August 11, 2011 at 11:46 am

      Loved your comment! Thanks Morning.

  11. August 16, 2011 at 12:09 am

    loved it….relished it……

    • August 16, 2011 at 6:40 am

      Thank you for your visit.

  12. August 16, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    You know, that’s how I’d like to be sent to the crematory – with a party hat on my head! What a great thought for a truly optimistic, well-traveled woman. I loved every word of this – read it aloud twice. Great meter, and that you really notice when you take time to read all poets’ offerings aloud. Thanks! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/me-not-me-an-etheree/

    • August 16, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      Amy, when a poem stikes me a certain way, I will re-read it out loud a couple of lines, discovering what is between the lines or just enjoy the flow of the work. Thank you for your comments Amy!

  13. August 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Thanks! Five Stars!

    • August 26, 2011 at 1:08 pm

      Thanks for the Five Stars!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

