Home > Interview with Poets United, Spilled Ink, TheMsLvh > Interview: Life of a Poet ~ California Ink In Motion

Interview: Life of a Poet ~ California Ink In Motion

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Poets United Interview:

Life of a Poet ~ California Ink In Motion

 


“When creating  poetry, it can look one way and then let a day pass and it will have a different look and feel because the words from the heart can be seen by the mind.” -TheMsLvh

   This is part of the text of a very fun interview with Sherry Blue Sky   over at Poets United as part of their series of interviews with different poets.  Click Here for the entire interview. I hope you enjoy reading this interview as I had giving it.  Sherry is a wonderful lady and host!


 by Sherry Blue Sky

   Kids, a while back a new blogger joined Poets United, blazed across our radar and made us sit up and take notice. We’re about to sit down with The Ms. LVH (as she wishes to be known) of California Ink in Motion. As she lives very close to the beach, I’m thinking either a glass of chilled white wine, or an after-dinner cup of tea, as we watch the sunset and chat about life along the California Coast.

 Ms. LVH:   First, I want to thank you for your interest in my poetry and life. I was born and raised in a very affluent area in West Los Angeles.  After completing my formal education, I moved. I realized my bond with nature was imperative to my sanity.  Los Angeles is a wild place, as you can imagine.  I have lived in several places in California, soaking up the different mind-sets that thrive here. 

   After zig-zagging around the state from the deserts to the mountains to the sea,  I moved to the Sierra’s and had a job to ski around to make sure everyone was having a good time, mostly a Public Relations job.  During the summers, I would bartend and water ski.  Life was fun.  I used my little cabin as a launching pad to travel throughout the world.  As the winters became more of a burden than a fantasy land (shoveling snow), I moved to the Coast of California in a small town, started a career and have lived here for two decades.  I can hear the waves and smell the salt-laden air everyday.

Poets United: Your jobs sound like so much fun. Have you ever lived a great adventure? I suspect it may have been your move to the small coastal town?? C’mon, spill it.

 Ms. LVH:  Yes, winding up on the coast was a journey of itself, but many years ago I bought a one way ticket to Europe and hitched-hiked and rode the trains for months. England, France, Germany, Italy, Austria, Amsterdam, Belgium, practically every place west of the Iron Curtain in 1976, (yes, I was very young). The Berlin Wall was still standing…(cont.).
 
Poets United: As are we all. What are your personal criteria for good poetry? Your own and others?
 
Ms. LVH:A poem that evokes a feeling, I would consider a good poem.  I like poems that are fluid and smooth and thought-provoking.  If a poem has me hooked by the first stanza, it probably is a fabulous poem, yet I have found some incredible surprises at the end of a poem as well…(cont.). 

 

*Continue reading with photos: An Interview with Poets United

  1. August 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Yey!!! Great read! Tell me more, tell me more!!! Oh, so much life! So much inspiration! Please pet the doggies (love dogs)! Gaaaaah! Too many thoughts right now… *sigh* Congratulations!

    • August 24, 2011 at 1:37 pm

      Thanks CC. I will throw in some extra food in their dinner dish for you! Glad you liked looking into my window. You’re the best!

  2. August 25, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Impressive!

  3. August 28, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Cool, Congradulations on this,
    I dont know if you facebook or not, but I have a Poetry Train E tour, where I travel from state to state finding Poets, and Train Engineers, and much more, you are welcome to come abaord on my adventure.
    http://www.facebook.com.PoetryTrain
    http://www.youtube.com./user/PoetryETrain
    A place to meet new Poets via all internet Poetry Sites.
    thanks Bravo

    WS

  4. August 28, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    happy for you.

    keep it up.

    :)

    • August 28, 2011 at 7:03 pm

      Thanks! It was fun to do. Sherry was a blast to work with.

  5. September 1, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Awesome interview. Always enjoy your writing. Nice to learn something about you.

    One of my new one’s you might enjoy: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/dearest-john-2/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment