Home > Poem, Poetry, Poets United, Spilled Ink, TheMsLvh, UDPS > This Little Child

This Little Child

I knew a little girl a lifetime ago
She loved to dance. Would play all day.
No worries would abound to ruin her smile
Her laughter could enlighten anyone’s vile.

I knew her for years, watched her flourish
Gave her the love required to nourish.
She tried to hold grip as I let mine go,
A tragic mistake, a regret I own.

She has been alone, waiting so patiently
While I have been dealing with life’s uncertainties
Watching and waiting, feeling so beguiled
This little girl, this angel, my inner-most child.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
-TheMsLvh   © copyright 6-6-11
Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
image source: http://www.life-times.net/

  1. June 6, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    What a sad little story and a beautiful picture to go with it! Very haunting. Reminds me of The Little Prince.

    • June 6, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. I appreciate your feedback.

  2. June 7, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Ah, found the comment box this time!
    The last line threw the tables on my original idea of this being an actual child, and rather one’s own child that gets clobbered by daily life and forgets the spirit of youthful enlightenment :)

    • June 7, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      Bingo! I believe everyone has an inner child and so many loose sight. Love the comment.

  3. August 6, 2011 at 9:18 am

    I love this poem. Let the child angel fly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

