Home > Poem, Poetry, Poets United, Spilled Ink, TheMsLvh, UDPS > Blush from my Cheek

Blush from my Cheek

Slowly
tears roll
Washing the blush from my cheek
Lines of white on red
Weariness in eyes that weep
Whilst hidden in the bed.
Mascara smears, darkens the eyes
Stinging tears allowed to flow
Perhaps fresh make-up? Would it show?
By days end I’m just too weary
To wash away the lines
Absorbed by feather pillows dearly
Relief in sleep divine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
-TheMsLvh © copyright 2011

Creative Commons License
California Ink In Motion by TheMsLvh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
photo: Unknown

  1. May 28, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    Can I just say what a relief to find somebody who actually is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know the right way to convey a difficulty to gentle and make it important. More individuals must learn this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant consider youre not more common since you definitely have the gift.

    • May 29, 2011 at 8:22 am

      I am really touched by your comment Antoine. Thank you for taking the time to explore inside my head. xo

  2. June 11, 2011 at 9:18 am

    I don’t wear the makeup but the saltiness sometimes shows. Nice write.

  3. July 13, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Last stanza is amazing. Perfection. “Perhaps fresh make-up? Would it show?” – such a way to say how one is hiding their emotions from others. Extremely well done.

    • July 13, 2011 at 11:56 am

      Thrilled you liked it.

  4. July 13, 2011 at 11:53 am

    love positive/happy ending, superb imagery on this one.

    Happy Rally.

  5. July 13, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    A wonderful poem I liked it very much :)

  6. July 14, 2011 at 5:53 am

    I love the way this poem so eloquently captures an experience I have had so many times. I love that, in poems, one can speak of things not elsewhere discussed.

  7. July 14, 2011 at 6:10 am

    You’ve expressed what every woman feels, that no matter what, hide the pain…and find relief in sleep! Oh, and I like Booguloo’s comments about the saltiness shows (I beg your pardon, every man does it too.. hide the pain, wash the salt tears away!)
    Rosie

  8. July 14, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Stunning poem you could feel the emotional exhaustion and the raw pain

    • July 14, 2011 at 9:05 am

      I find it difficult to read this poem because it is so raw. This was written from the core of my soul, I am happy it has been well received by so many. Thank you for your insightful comment.

  9. July 14, 2011 at 10:01 am

    A lovely rhyme scheme and such a personal poem. Well done.

  10. July 16, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    It’s wonderful when it all comes together. Lovely.

  11. August 26, 2011 at 10:33 am

    You have captured the emotion in a way we can all relate to.

  12. August 26, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Makes me glad I don’t have to wear mascara…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

